About the Society


The Supreme Court of Louisiana Historical Society is a private non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, which was incorporated in the State of Louisiana in 1992.  The Society is dedicated to the collection and preservation of the history of the Supreme Court of Louisiana and its decisions for the purpose of increasing public awareness of the Court’s contribution to Louisiana’s rich legal heritage.

Member contributions have allowed The Historical Society to open the Louisiana Supreme Court Museum, to restore and reopen the stunning Supreme Court building at 400 Royal Street, and to restore dozens of portraits of Louisiana Judges of historical significance. Membership is open to the public, as is the museum.



Join the society

Fun Facts

Louisiana Supreme Court Justices who were also State Governors

  • Pierre Auguste Bourguignon Derbigny – 1828-1829 (Whig; National Republican)
  • Francis T. Nicholls – 1877-1880, 1888-1892 (Democrat)
  • Samuel Douglas McEnery – 1881-1888 (Democrat)
  • Newton C. Blanchard – 1904-1908 (Democrat)
  • Robert F. Kennon – 1952-1956 (Democrat)

(Dates are terms of governorship)


Download Membership Form

News and Events


Paul R. Baier, Scholar and Professor Extraordinaire

Paul R. Baier, Professor Emeritus of the LSU Paul M. Hebert Law Center, and Supreme Court of Louisiana Historical Society Secretary since 2007, passed away on February 18, 2022. Professor Baier taught constitutional law and advanced appellate advocacy at LSU …

Read More

The 26th Louisiana Supreme Court Chief Justice John L. Weimer Takes the Oath of Office – January 7, 2021

Louisiana Supreme Court Justice John L. Weimer took his oath today as the 26th Chief Justice of the Louisiana Supreme Court. Chief Justice Weimer began his service on the Louisiana Supreme Court in 2001 when he was elected to serve …

Read More

The Louisiana Supreme Court Welcomes New Associate Justice Piper D. Griffin – January 1, 2021

Associate Justice Piper D. Griffin was elected to the Louisiana Supreme Court in November 2020 to represent the Seventh Supreme Court District, which covers most of Orleans Parish. Justice Griffin has served the past 20 years on Division I of …

Read More